Transatlantic Symposium Agenda

View and download a pdf version of the agenda here.

Monday, June 7, 2021

Time 

Session Description

9:30 - 9:45 am ET

3:30 - 3:45 pm CEST

                                      

Welcome

Stéphane Raud, Attaché for Science and Technology, Embassy of France in the United States

Symposium Opening Remarks 

Philippe Etienne, Ambassador of France to the United States

9:45 - 10:00 am ET

3:45 - 4:00 pm CEST

Keynote

Tom Lovejoy, Board Director, GCSE; Professor, George Mason University; Senior Fellow, United Nations Foundation

Introduced by Michelle Wyman, Executive Director, GCSE

10:00 - 11:00 am ET

4:00 - 5:00 pm CEST





 

Panel Session 1

Preliminary Learning from the COVID-19 Pandemic and Consequences for Academic and Research Institutions

 

The COVID-19 pandemic is still a major crisis which continues to impact our daily life and work. Universities and research institutions have quickly learned about distance learning, e -commuting, days of virtual meeting, empty campus, distance lab and campus management, virtual international partnership, etc... This session takes stock and evaluates initial and future consequences of the pandemic for research and academic institutions.

 
Moderator

David Ackerly, Dean, College of Natural Resources, University of California, Berkeley

Speakers
  • Patrick Le Galès, CNRS Research professor and Dean of Sciences Po Urban School
  • Marty Matlock, Board Director, GCSE; Executive Director, University of Arkansas Resiliency Center; Professor of Ecological Engineering, University of Arkansas
  • Gérald Majou de La Debutrie, Manager of Sustainability and Student Life, Conference des Grandes Ecoles (CGE), an Engineering, Business, and Architecture Schools Network
  • Eric Leshinskie, Interim Provost, Maricopa Community College System
  • David Biron, Researcher, Ecology and Environment Institute of the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS)

11:00 am - 12:00pm ET

5:00 - 6:00 pm CEST




 

Panel Session 2

Creating an Ecosystem of Sustainability through Science and Action 

 

Sustainable Development Goals as defined by the United Nations have invited research organizations to redefine their thematic priorities and research politics. Institutions seek to foster interdisciplinary or transdisciplinary approaches to better reply to environmental and climate change challenges at an organizational level. Meanwhile, individual researchers are working to promote more laboratory awareness on their carbon and environmental footprint. 

 
Moderator

Peter Marra, Director, Georgetown Environmental Initiative, Georgetown University 

Speakers
  •  Alain Schuhl, Deputy CEO for Research, French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS)
  • Graham Carr, President, Concordia University Montreal 
  • Chris Caldwell, President, College of the Menominee Nation
  • Tamara Ben Ari, Researcher, National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment (INRAE); Project Manager of the Labos 1point5 Initiative    

 

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Time

Session Description

9:30 - 9:45 am ET

3:30pm - 3:45pm CEST

                                       

Keynote

Michelle Wyman, Executive Director, Global Council for Science and the Environment

9:50 - 10:50 am ET

3:50 - 4:50 pm CEST

Panel Session 1

Leading by Example and Scaling What Works: Research Institution Accelerators to Environmental Action 

 

Facing the environmental and climate change threats, many universities and research institutions are taking initiatives in campus management, environmental-friendly building construction, recycling options, and more. Student groups strongly invite academic institutions to promote sustainable development priorities.

 
Moderator

Leah Nichols, Executive Director, Institute for a Sustainable Earth, George Mason University

Speakers
  • Thierry Doré, Vice President for Research and Innovation, Paris Saclay University 
  • Helene Dillard, Dean, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, University of California, Davis 
  • Christopher Boone, Dean, Futures College, Arizona State University 
  • Florent Vince, Student, Grenoble Institute of Technology, and President of Cop2 Étudiante 

11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET

5:00 - 6:00 pm CEST

 


 

Panel Session 2

Mobility of the Research Community

 

For years, the research community has traveled extensively to conduct its scientific projects. Field work as well as collaborative programs require short or long term journeys. International or national collaboration require teamwork, good understanding, fruitful interaction as well as capacity building which very often involve traveling. This session explores how the COVID-19 pandemic has shifted the norms of scientific research and collaboration.

 
Moderator 

Laurent-Emmanuel Brizzi, Vice-President for Campus Operations, Poitiers University

Speakers
  • Joanna Regulska, Vice Provost and Dean of Global Affairs, University of California, Davis 
  • Alain Bouscayrol, Research Director, University of Lille 
  • Rattan Lal, Director and Distinguished Professor, Center for Carbon Management and Sequestration, The Ohio State University 
  • Nicolas Gratiot, Senior Scientist, French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development (IRD) 

 

Wednesday, June 9, 2021  

Time

Session Description

9:30 - 9:45 am ET

3:30 - 3:45 pm CEST 

                                        

Keynote

Rita Colwell, Board Director, GCSE; Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland and Johns Hopkins University; President, CosmosID, Inc.

Introduced by Michelle Wyman, Executive Director, GCSE

9:45 - 10:45 am ET

3:45 - 4:45 pm CEST

Panel Session 1

The Benefits of Partnership to Accelerate Positive Environmental Impacts

 

Each day, more  corporate and large industries are announcing their net zero carbon objectives. In the meantime, universities and research organizations understand that the quality and content of partnership with large companies and the private sector can be critical and strategic to fulfil their environmental and carbon footprint commitments. This session explores opportunities for collaboration and partnership between universities, local governments, and the private sector.

 
Moderator

Olivier Berné, Research Scientist, French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS)     

Speakers 
  • Anne-Hélène Prieur-Richard, Head of the Department of Environment, Ecosystem, Biological Resources, Agence Nationale de la Recherche 
  • Lynda Hopkins, Chair, Board of Supervisors, Sonoma County, California
  • Jean-François Soussana, Vice-Chair for International Affairs, National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment (INRAE)      
  • Serena Sowers, VP, Public Sector Solutions, Swiss Re

10:50 - 11:50 am ET

4:50 - 5:50 pm CEST

Panel Session 2

What’s Different Going Forward: Perspectives from Academic and Research institution leaders  

 

The symposium offers a snapshot of initiatives led by French and American research and academic institutions to mitigate environmental impacts and advance sustainability. The COVID-19 pandemic has forced organisations to accelerate their agenda. This session will be an opportunity for research top managers to share their vision of their organisation's future and long term evolution of the research ecosystem and practices.  

 
Moderator

Stéphane Raud, Attaché for Science and Technology, Embassy of France in the United States 

Michelle Wyman, Executive Director, GCSE

Speakers 
  • Joanne (Joanie) Mahoney, President, The State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (SUNY ESF)
  • Gabriela Pfeifle, University President National Council Representative, University of Toulouse
  • Gil Latz, Vice Provost for Global Strategies and International Affairs, The Ohio State University 
  • Olivier Dangles, Deputy Chief Science Officer, French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development (IRD) 

11:50 am - 12:05 pm ET

5:50 - 6:05 pm CEST

Closing Keynote 

Margaret Leinen, Board Member, GCSE; Director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego; Vice Chancellor, Marine Sciences and Dean of the School of Marine Sciences

Introduced by Michelle Wyman, Executive Director, GCSE

12:05 - 12:15 pm ET

6:05 - 6:15 pm CEST

Closing Remarks & Next Steps 

Stéphane Raud, Attaché for Science and Technology, Embassy of France in the United States 

Michelle Wyman, Executive Director, GCSE